Matthew Bellamy: A Classically Trained Pianist

th_matthew_bellamy.jpg

Last night Jackie, Bob, Neil and I went to the Vue cinema to watch Muse’s Wembley gig from last summer (me being the only one who did not get to attend one of the real gigs, barstewards!) and I must admit I was impressed. I knew they were good but did not fully comprehend the true extent of their Rock Godliness.

There were guitars that had their own Segways, ladies dangling from balloons, loads of flash-bang-whizzes, a possible guest performance by Patrick Moore on the xylophone, a bashful bassist and performances that were stunning and exhausting to watch.

Matt Bellamy seems to have the fastest fingers in the word and can make his voice/guitar/piano do whatever he god damn pleases. He also skips and spins and knee-slides like all good Devonians do and has quite oddly angular/Elvish good looks. He is only 2’5″ and can be worn as a pendant. I have admired this man since I was 17. This has led me to wonder if one of my past relationships really only happened because the man in question looked like him, and that I was imagining him to be as Bellamy-esque in other areas. Am I that shallow?….don’t answer that!

But I have to admit that  there was something even more alluring than Mr Bellamy on that screen last night, and it was one of his guitars. It was red and sparkly with a pad at the base that made stylophone-like squeaks and bloops. Just look at it!!!

the-guitar.jpg

So to sum up: great night, great company, great guitars etc!

Leave a comment